News Feed


History has been made at Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University, with the inaugural Bevan George and Kobie McGurk Cups Champions crowned after a scintillating day of hockey on the field.

The Outbacks claimed the Kobie McGurk Cup after defeating the Suns 3-0 in a dominant performance for the side.

The Outbacks completed their undefeated run through the leadership of Kobie McGurk, who opened the scoring for the side and led them to victory.

In the Bevan George Cup, the Chris Ciriello and Tim Deavin-led Suns snatched the trophy from the red-hot Breakers, defeating the side 4-2 in a hotly contested match.

The Suns controlled the play for the first half, with former Kookaburra Tim Deavin opening the scoring with a rocket of a strike early in the first quarter.

The Suns led the Breakers in dominant fashion, until the Breakers claimed two goals of the own, with a penalty corner strike from Ian Burcher brining the score to 3-2 and giving the Breakers life.

The Breakers applied an immense amount of pressure but ultimately, their multiple scoring opportunities fell short and the Suns in the final ten seconds of the match were able to pull back a goal to bring the score line to 4-2.

In the Kobie McGurk Cup bronze medal match, the Highlanders defeated the Breakers 3-0; the Bevan George Cup bronze medal match saw the Outbacks hand the Highlanders a 5-0 drubbing.


The legend-laden Bevan George and Kobie McGurk Cup teams have been finalised for the historic first-ever tournament, with the eight coaches across the men’s and women’s sides picking their squads after an exciting draft night at Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University.

The women's coaches kicked off their selections first, with Highlanders coach Alison Reick calling in the big guns early, selecting former Hockeyroo Jayde Taylor with the first selection of the draft, with the 2012 London Olympian providing a strong defensive presence for the side.

Seven-time Jackie Pereira Top Goal Scorer Award winner Chantelle Ciallella was Nicole Serefini's first pick for the Suns, opting for a damaging attacking presence for her side to build around.

Outbacks Coach Temeka Curley opted for the legend who holds the honour of the tournament's name, Kobie McGurk, while Tammy Cowan for the Breakers selected UWA Hockey Club legend and former Hockeyroo Shayni Nelson to lead her side.

In the Bevan George Cup for men's Masters, it was Trid Woodhouse who selected first for the Highlanders, selecting Fremantle Cockburn's 400-game legend Darryl McCormick to lead his line-up to victory in the tournament.

Former Kookaburra Chris Ciriello selected another former Kookaburra in Tim Deavin for his first selection; a two-time Olympian, Champions Trophy and multiple World League winner, Deavin will make his claim for pick of the bunch, providing a running option across the field.

Westside Wolves Hockey Club legend Edward Welch was selected with the Outbacks first pick by Allan Colthart.

Breakers Coach Phil Marshall selected former Kookaburras squad member Ian Burcher with his side's first pick, teaming him up with another former Kookaburra and Olympic gold medallist Grant Schubert who will be sure to provide a potent attacking option up front.

The Bevan George and Kobie McGurk Cup kicks off next Friday, 22 October at Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University, with entry to the legendary tournament free for all. For full fixtures, click here.





WHAT: The Bevan George and Kobie McGurk Cups – 9-day tournament period featuring 35-50 year old (30-35 for women) Masters hockey players

WHEN: 22-31 October 2021

WHERE: Perth Hockey Stadium at Curtin University

WHO: Former and current elite-level hockey stars, local players and more from WA’s rich Masters Hockey community