Published Mon 08 Aug 2022

Australia’s Professor Michael Henderson has been appointed as the inaugural Chair of the World Masters Hockey (WMH) Medical Advisory Committee for a four-year term. The committee includes professional members from the UK, Sri Lanka, Wales, New Zealand and Australia and will provide expert advice on the safety, health and wellbeing of all matters relating to WMH and Masters Hockey.

Henderson – the immediate past President of Hockey WA, founder/CEO of the global acute trauma medical organisation, Emergency Triage Services, and a Professorial Fellow the University of Western Australia Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health Sciences – was honoured to accept the appointment.

“The formation of this global medical advisory committee is an exciting chapter for WMH and will be a valuable resource for all Masters hockey players internationally,” Henderson said.

“Hockey is an extraordinary sport that is played competitively by many into their 90s so demands on health, fitness and wellbeing in Masters hockey takes on a different perspective to many other sports.”

WMH Ltd. is a company, owned by its worldwide membership and set up in Scotland (UK) in 2018. WMH is recognised by the Federation of International Hockey (FIH) as the hockey body responsible for Masters Hockey internationally.

Henderson has successfully represented Western Australia nationally in hockey on several occasions and played internationally in World Masters hockey matches. He has also won multiple championships in both open wheel racing cars and on grand prix motorcycles.

Hockey WA congratulated Michael on his appointment in this important international role.

“One of the best things about hockey is its capacity for multigeneration participation – and it’s core to Hockey WA’s strategic plan,” CEO Fabian Ross said.

“Michael keeping an eye out for our senior competitors means they're in great hands to stick with the sport we all love.”


The WA Masters Hockey Committee would like to congratulate the following players selected for our WA Women’s Masters Teams:


Women’s Over 34 State Team

Jacinta Amundsen

Maxine Christie

Anna Cook

Dale Cronje

Ashlee Docking

Sarah Forbes

Nicole Geary

Jessica Hall

Amy Harken (GK)

Emily Hegney

Jodie Mellor

Kylie Monk

Jenine Piper

Bronwyn Poustie

Jane Reid


Women’s Over 40 State Team

Kelly Barr

Isobel Bevis

Fleur Ford

Sally Galbraith

Stacey Hamilton

Emily Holt

Dirranie Kirby (GK)

Johanna Muntz

Kim Nicholson

Jodi Nield

Tracey Price

Rachel Sherborne

Rhiannon Stewart

Leisha Tatham

Katy Vipond

Shayne Wass

Train On: Donella Berry  GK


Women’s Over 50 State Team

Karen Beynon

Michele Clement

Jodie George

Lisa Hando

Robyn Himbeck

Lisa Hodge

Nicole Ilich

Rebecca McGinn

Ellie Munt

Karen Richards

Anita Scott

Anna Taylor

Julie Waddell

Sarah Wiese

Rosie Willix (GK)

Natasha Woodhouse

Beki Yates


Women’s Over 55 State Team

Sally Barrett

Marjorie Boultbee

Pippa Button

Suzie Bowyer

Kim Chandler

Anita Duckworth

Marie Fulbert-Hadet (GK)

Helen Guinness

Linda Hart

Tracey Hough

Alison Hoy

Karen Judge

Vicki McAllister

Kelley Robinson

Jean-Marie Rudd

Helen Rule

Leonie Squire

Jill van Duuren


Women’s Over 65 Division 1 State Team

Karen Allan

Gail Anderson

Debra Andrew

Alma Davies

Susan Gallinagh (GK)

Dale Keiley

Margaret Knapp

Maris Margetts

Janese Mcdougall

Jill Sheehan

Helen Smith

Eleanor Staples

Lynette Stowe

Pearl Watene

Ricky Whelan


Women’s Over 65 Division 2 State Team

Janice Arcus

Betty Bryant

Patricia Davis (GK)

Avis Holtham

Kerry Hood

Helen Johansen

Catherine McFarlane

Delys Palmer

Anne Serafini

Pam Warren

Note: To be combined with Victorian Players not shown here.


Due to low number of nominations in the O45s and O60s we were unfortunately not able to select a WA O45s or WA O60s team- however, we have done everything possible to get players who nominated for these 2 teams to be selected in other WA Women's Teams to still be able to compete in this year’s Nationals in Cairns.

For those players who sadly missed out on selection in our WA Women’s Masters Teams, we can still offer you the chance to play in the Nationals in Cairns.  If you are interested, you can be placed on the Pick-up list to be selected by other States, based on the position you play.

If you want to be considered for the Pick-up list, please send me your contact details (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) and preferred playing positions by COB 4/7/2022. Interested States will contact you directly and I am happy to liaise and submit the necessary paper work to make it happen.

For those players who nominated for O45s and O60s and have missing out on selection, your nomination fee will be reimbursed. If you think you should get a refund and haven't by 15th July 22 please contact our WAMHC Treasurer, Sinead French-Bluhm (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) to action.


Your coaches and managers will be in touch soon with information on timeline, trainings, accommodation, deposits and more.

Look forward seeing you all in Cairns in September!



Jill van Duuren

WA State Women’s Masters Delegate